Collection: Olives & Co.

The olive tree culture has a long and fascinating history. The origins of the olive tree can be traced back to the Oligocene, 20-40 million years ago, when these plants evolved in Italy and the eastern Mediterranean. The domesticated olive was first cultivated in Mediterranean regions around 7,000 years ago and has since been considered one of the oldest cultivated crops in the world.

Interestingly, in the early days of its cultivation, the olive was grown primarily for the production of lamp oil, rather than for its culinary value. Only later, with the passage of time, did people realize the nutritional value and delicious taste of the olive fruit and began to increasingly use it for human nutrition.

There is also evidence that olives were being used by people living on Morocco's Atlantic coast as early as around 100,000 years ago. Wild olive trees, also known as oleasters, have been present in the eastern Mediterranean for about 19,000 years and have been collected by humans.

Although the origin of the domesticated olive is not known for certain, fossils of Olea pollen have been found in Macedonia and other locations around the Mediterranean, indicating that this genus is a primordial element of the Mediterranean flora. On the Greek island of Santorini, fossil leaves of Olea have been found in paleosols that are about 37,000 years old. Other leaves on the same island date to before 60,000 BP and are the oldest known olives from the Mediterranean.

All in all, the history of the olive tree is closely linked to Mediterranean culture and history and is still cherished and used in many parts of the world today.
Oliven & Co. - Maître Philippe & Filles

    20 products

Kategorie: Oliven & Co.

Die Olivenbaum-Kultur hat eine lange und faszinierende Geschichte. Die Ursprünge des Olivenbaums lassen sich auf das Oligozän vor 20-40 Millionen Jahren zurückverfolgen, als sich diese Pflanzen in Italien und dem östlichen Mittelmeerraum entwickelten. Vor etwa 7.000 Jahren wurde die domestizierte Olive erstmals in mediterranen Regionen angebaut und gilt seitdem als eine der ältesten kultivierten Nutzpflanzen der Welt.

Interessanterweise wurde die Olive in den frühen Tagen ihrer Kultivierung hauptsächlich zur Herstellung von Lampenöl angebaut, und nicht wegen ihres kulinarischen Wertes. Erst später, im Laufe der Zeit, erkannten die Menschen den Nährwert und den köstlichen Geschmack der Olivenfrüchte und begannen, sie vermehrt für die menschliche Ernährung zu nutzen.

Es gibt auch Hinweise darauf, dass Oliven bereits vor etwa 100.000 Jahren von Menschen genutzt wurden, die an der Atlantikküste Marokkos lebten. Wildlebende Olivenbäume, auch Oleaster genannt, waren im östlichen Mittelmeerraum bereits seit etwa 19.000 Jahren vorhanden und wurden von den Menschen gesammelt.

Obwohl der Ursprung der domestizierten Olive nicht sicher bekannt ist, wurden Fossilien von Olea-Pollen in Mazedonien und anderen Orten rund um das Mittelmeer gefunden, was darauf hinweist, dass diese Gattung ein ursprüngliches Element der mediterranen Flora ist. Auf der griechischen Insel Santorini wurden fossile Blätter von Olea in paläosolen gefunden, die etwa 37.000 Jahre alt sind. Andere Blätter auf derselben Insel stammen aus der Zeit vor 60.000 BP und sind die ältesten bekannten Oliven aus dem Mittelmeer.

Alles in allem ist die Geschichte des Olivenbaums eng mit der mediterranen Kultur und Geschichte verbunden und wird bis heute in vielen Teilen der Welt geschätzt und genutzt.
Oliven & Co. - Maître Philippe & Filles

    18 Produkte