Grande Druida Branco Dão, Encruzado

A great white wine with an exquisite aroma that is heavily influenced by the flint. Add intense notes of orange blossom, dry herb, peach, grapefruit, lime, white pepper, pastry and wet stone - a bouquet of great purity and presence.
In the mouth, creaminess is paired with lively acidity and aromas of grapefruit, mild spices and flint, which intertwine very harmoniously.

The wine is creamy, persistent, engaging and austere at the same time, yet extremely complex, refined and elegant.
Very drinkable now, but can still mature for a few more years.

The Grande Druida Branco from the Dão is the wine symbol of the great friendship between two oenologists: Nuno Mira d'O and João Correâ, which unfortunately came to an abrupt end when João died much too early. Since then, Nuno had the idea of ​​one day making a very special wine and celebrating it as a kind of posthumous tribute to his friend João.
The wine is as special as the friendship between the two men: the Grande Druida is only produced in the best vintages and in very small quantities.
The first - vintage 2017 - is now available from us. With a contingent of only 60 bottles!

Like the “normal” Druida Branco, the Grande Druida is made from 100% Encruzado (the Burgundy killer…) from a special plot of old vines averaging 70 years old. The 2017 vintage brought a lot of structure, acidity and minerality.

The must was placed in barriques (228 liters, of which only 20% were new) with its own yeasts for spontaneous fermentation, in which the wine then remained for a further 10 months. A total of only 2,000 bottles were filled, which spent a further 16 months in the dark, cold cellar before being released on the market in spring 2020. Incidentally, the wine is already sold out in Portugal.

  • Vintage: 2017
  • Production area: Dão
  • Terroir: Granite with a fair amount of clay and medium-sized pebbles on the surface
  • Varieties: 100% Encruzado
  • Alcohol content: 12% vol.
  • Residual sugar: 1.2g/litre
  • pH: 3.23
  • Contains sulphites

The story of Nuno is similar to the story of many young talented Portuguese oenologists with a vision and a dream. He belongs to the first generation in Portugal who have learned winemaking, the so-called oenology, and who see their country as a kind of playground. Salazar's dictatorship "frozen" the country for several decades, leading to national bankruptcy and eventual Troika control. But the Portuguese are fighters and freed themselves from this unsatisfactory situation on their own. When it comes to wine, the country has hardly specialized in the many internationally successful, mostly French grape varieties, but concentrates primarily on its own countless autochthonous grape varieties. In fact, Portugal has the largest selection of autochthonous grape varieties in the world. This is exactly what Nuno and his partner are interested in.
Vineyards in the Dão

Together with João Corrêa he worked for several years as an oenologist for the Companhia das Quintas until one day he met João Soares from the Caves Messias. Together, the two decided to make a red wine from the Baga vine in Bairrada and that is how the project, or rather the Alías wine, was born. They then decided to make a white wine from the Encruzado vine in the Dão, the Druid. Both wines are so-called "Garage Wines", which are produced in very small quantities.

Manufacturer address: C2O Lda. Rua Professor Francisco Gentil, 16 - 4oE, 1600-236 Lisboa, Portugal

sales unit: Bottle 0.75L
Sale price€ 39,90 EUR (53,20€/l)

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout

Pickup available at Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen

Usually ready in 24 hours

Grande Druida Branco Dão, Encruzado

Grande Druida Branco Dão, Encruzado

Bottle 0.75L

Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen

Pickup available, usually ready in 24 hours

Emser Straße
10719 Berlin
Germany

+493088683610
Auf Lager, versandbereit
Only 3 units left

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

You might also be interested in

WE DELIVER TO

Germany and Austria
with UPS and DHL
Click and collect in Berlin

COMPETENT CONSULTING

We know our way around and would be happy to advise you... ☎︎ 030 88683610

SECURE PAYMENT

through SSL encryption
All common payment methods.

ALL PRODUCTS IN STOCK

No waiting time, safe packaging, fast shipping

Grande Druida Branco 2017 Dão, Encruzado


Verkaufseinheit: Flasche 0,75L
Preis:
Sonderpreis39,90€
53,20€ / l

Abholung bei Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen verfügbar

Gewöhnlich fertig in 24 Stunden

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Beschreibung

Ein großartiger Weißwein mit exquisitem Aroma, das stark vom Feuerstein geprägt ist. Dazu intensive Noten von Orangenblüte, trockenem Kraut, Pfirsich, Grapefruit, Limette, weißem Pfeffer, Gebäck und nassem Stein – ein Bouquet von großer Reinheit und Präsenz.
Im Mund paart sich Cremigkeit mit lebendiger Säure und Aromen von Grapefruit, milden Gewürzen und Feuerstein, die sehr harmonisch ineinander greifen.

Der Wein ist zugleich cremig, langanhaltend, einnehmend und streng, dabei überaus komplex, raffiniert und elegant.
Jetzt schon sehr gut trinkbar, darf jedoch auch gern noch einige Jahre reifen.

Der Grande Druida Branco aus dem Dão ist das weingewordene Sinnbild der großen Freundschaft zweier Önologen: Nuno Mira d’O und João Correâ, die leider durch den viel zu frühen Tod von João ein jähes Ende fand. Seither hatte Nuno die Idee, eines Tages einen ganz besonderen Wein zu machen und diesen als eine Art posthume Ehrung seines Freundes João zu zelebrieren.
So besonders wie die Freundschaft der beiden Männer, so selten ist auch der Wein: Der Grande Druida wird jeweils nur in den besten Jahrgängen und in sehr kleinen Mengen produziert.
Den ersten – Jahrgang 2017 – gibt es nun bei uns. Mit einem Kontingent von nur 60 Flaschen!

Wie der „normale” Druida Branco besteht auch der Grande Druida aus 100% Encruzado (der Burgunder Killer …) von einer speziellen Parzelle mit alten Rebstöcken von durchschnittlich 70 Jahren. Der Jahrgang 2017 brachte viel Struktur, Säure und Mineralität.

Der Most wurde mit eigenen Hefen zur Spontanfermentation in Barriques (228 Liter, davon nur 20 % neue) gegeben, in denen der Wein anschließend noch weitere 10 Monate blieb. Abgefüllt wurden insgesamt nur 2.000 Flaschen, die noch weitere 16 Monate im dunklen, kalten Keller verbrachten, ehe sie im Frühjahr 2020 auf den Markt kamen. In Portugal ist der Wein übrigens schon ausverkauft.

  • Jahrgang: 2017
  • Anbaugebiet: Dão
  • Terroir: Granit mit ziemlich viel Lehm und mittelgroßen Kieselsteinen an der Oberfläche
  • Rebsorten: 100% Encruzado
  • Alkoholgehalt: 12% Vol. 
  • Restzucker: 1,2g/Liter
  • pH: 3,23
  • Enthält Sulfite

Die Geschichte von Nuno ähnelt der Geschichte vieler junger talentierter portugiesischer Önologen mit einer Vision und einem Traum. Er gehört zur ersten Generation in Portugal, die das Weinmachen, die sogenannte Önologie, richtig gelernt haben und die ihr Land als eine Art Spielwiese begreifen. Durch die Diktatur von Salazar wurde das Land für mehrere Jahrzente „eingefroren“, was zum Staatsbankrott und schließlich zur Kontrolle durch die Troika führte. Aber die Portugiesen sind Kämpfer und befreiten sich aus eigener Kraft aus dieser unbefriedigenden Situation. In Sachen Wein hat das Land sich kaum auf die vielen international erfolgreichen, meist französischen Rebsorten spezialisiert, sondern konzentriert sich vorwiegend auf die unzähligen eigenen autochtonen Rebsorten. Tatsächlich zählt Portugal die größte Auswahl autochtoner Rebsorten der Welt. Genau das ist es, was Nuno und seinen Partner interessiert.
Weingärten im Dão

Zusammen mit João Corrêa arbeitete er mehrere Jahre als Önologe  für die Companhia das Quintas bis er eines Tages João Soares von den Caves Messias traf. Gemeinsam beschlossen die beiden, einen Rotwein aus der Baga-Rebe in der Bairrada zu machen und so wurde das Projekt, bzw. der Wein Alías geboren. Anschließend beschlossen sie, einen Weißwein aus der Rebe Encruzado im Dão zu machen, den Druida. Beide Weine sind sogenannte „Garage Wines“, die in sehr kleinen Mengen produziert werden. 

Herstelleradresse: C2O Lda. Rua Professor Francisco Gentil, 16 - 4oE, 1600-236 Lisboa, Portugal

Bezahlung und Sicherheit

Apple Pay Bancontact EPS Google Pay iDEAL Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay SOFORT Visa

Deine Zahlungsinformationen werden sicher verarbeitet. Wir speichern keine Kreditkartendaten und haben auch keinen Zugang zu Deinen Kredidtkatendaten.

You may also like

Recently viewed