Dão Tinto, Álvaro Castro

Álvaro Castro is one of the most important and consistent winemakers in the Dão, who actually implements his high quality standards. He has thus become a role model for many young winemakers who name him as an inspiration, including Antonio Madeira.

The Dão is located in the mountainous Beira region, north of Portugal's highest mountain range, the Serra da Estrela. There is no industry here, so the air is clean and pure. The barren granite and slate soils give the region's wines their unmistakable character, a combination of lots of freshness and minerality and little alcohol.

Beautiful nose with many scents of wild blackberries, discreetly fruity, also in the mouth. A very tasty and elegant wine with a dense structure, fine tannins, reminiscent of Burgundy.
Incredibly delicious, leaves you wanting more.

Definitely one of our favorite wines from spring to winter!

  • Vintage: 2017
  • Grape varieties: Alfrocheiro, Tinta Roriz, Touriga Nacional
  • Production area: Dão
  • Alcohol content: 13%
  • Terroir: granite, chalk and sand
  • Contains sulfites (58.0mg/L)
  • Drinking temperature: around 10°C

The Dão - a wild and original area - is one of the oldest wine-growing regions in Portugal with a protected designation of origin. It is located in the mountainous Beira region, north of Portugal's highest mountain range, the Serra da Estrela. Large wine cooperatives used to be located here, which flooded the market with mass-produced goods - in the meantime it has developed into an interesting wine region, where many small producers with high quality standards work. Álvaro Castro is probably the best known and best of them. In addition to the Quinta de Saes, he also owns the Quinta de Pellada. 

Álvaro Castro comes from a family of winegrowers, but originally trained as a civil engineer. It was only when he moved into the Quinta de Saes in 1980, not far from the Serra d'Estrela National Park, that his interest in wine awoke, and so he decided to revitalize his family's old vineyards at an altitude of 500 meters. He has been producing his own wines since 1989 and receives active support from his daughter Maria, who studied oenology. He is now considered one of the best winemakers in the Dão, maybe even in the whole country. In terms of finesse and fruit, his unique wines are at the level of the upper class of the northern and even the southern Rhône. The Quinta's vineyards are at an altitude of at least 500 m in the middle of pine forests and offer a breathtaking view over the mountains. The soils contain a lot of granite, which gives the wines their unmistakable character: they are much slimmer and more elegant than, for example, the wines from the Douro, with less alcohol and less sweetness, instead they are very mineral, classic and straightforward.

Manufacturer: Quinta da Pellada – Unipessoal, Lda. – 6270 - 141 Pinhanços – Portugal

Sale price€ 9,95 EUR (13,27€/l)
Sold out

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout

Pickup currently unavailable at Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen

Quinta da Pellada Wein Flasche 0,75L Dão Tinto, Álvaro Castro Maitre Philippe et Filles

Dão Tinto, Álvaro Castro

Bottle 0.75L

Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen

Pickup currently unavailable

Emser Straße
10719 Berlin
Germany

+493088683610

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
J
Jo.H (Berlin, Germany)
leichter Roter

ein leichter (13%) Roter mit erstaunlich wenig Säure und wunderbarer Tiefe

You might also be interested in

WE DELIVER TO

Germany and Austria
with UPS and DHL
Click and collect in Berlin

COMPETENT CONSULTING

We know our way around and would be happy to advise you... ☎︎ 030 88683610

SECURE PAYMENT

through SSL encryption
All common payment methods.

ALL PRODUCTS IN STOCK

No waiting time, safe packaging, fast shipping

Dão Tinto, Álvaro Castro

Álvaro Castro ist einer der wichtigsten und konsequentesten Winzer im Dão, der seine hohen Qualitätsansprüche auch tatsächlich umsetzt. Damit ist er zum Vorbild für viele junge Winzer geworden, die ihn als Inspiration nennen, darunter auch Antonio Madeira.

Das Dão befindet sich in der gebirgigen Beira-Region, nördlich des höchsten Gebirges Portugals, der Serra da Estrela. Hier gibt es keine Industrie und so ist die Luft sauber und rein. Die kargen Granit- und Schiefer-Böden verleihen den Weinen der Region ihren unverwechselbaren Charakter, eine Kombination aus viel Frische und Mineralität und wenig Alkohol.

Wunderschöne Nase mit viele Düfte von wilden Brombeeren, dezent fruchtig, auch im Mund. Ein sehr süffigen und eleganten Wein mit dichte Struktur, feine Tannine, erinnert an Burgund.
Unglaublich lecker, macht Lust auf mehr.

Definitiv einer unserer Lieblingsweine von Frühling bis Winter!

  • Jahrgang: 2017
  • Rebsorten: Alfrocheiro, Tinta Roriz, Touriga Nacional
  • Anbaugebiet: Dão
  • Alkoholgehalt: 13%
  • Terroir: Granit, Kreide und Sand
  • Enthält Sulfite (58,0mg/L)
  • Trinktemperatur: um die 10°C 

Das Dão – eine wilde und ursprüngliche Gegend – ist eine der ältesten Weinbau Regionen Portugals mit geschützter Herkunftsbezeichnung. Es liegt in der gebirgigen Beira-Region, nördlich des höchsten Gebirges Portugals, der Serra da Estrela. Einst waren hier vor allem große Weinkooperative angesiedelt, die den Markt mit Massenware fluteten – inzwischen hat es sich zu einer interessanten Weingegend entwickelt, wo viele kleine Produzenten mit hohen Qualitätsansprüchen wirken. Álvaro Castro ist der wohl bekannteste und beste unter ihnen. Ihm gehören neben der Quinta de Saes auch die Quinta de Pellada. 

Álvaro Castro entstammt einer Familie von Weinbauern, ist jedoch ursprünglich gelernter Bauingenieur. Erst als er 1980 die Quinta de Saes unweit des Nationalparks Serra d’Estrela bezog, erwachte in ihm das Interesse für Wein und so entschloss er sich, die alten, auf 500 Metern Höhe gelegenen Rebflächen seiner Familie wieder zu beleben. Seit 1989 produziert er seine eigenen Weine und erhält dabei tatkräftige Unterstützung von seiner Tochter Maria, ihres Zeichens studierte Önologin. Inzwischen gilt er als einer der besten Winzer des Dão, vielleicht sogar des ganzen Landes. Seine eigenständigen Weine bewegen sich in Puncto Finesse und Frucht auf dem Niveau der Oberklasse der nördlichen und sogar der südlichen Rhône.  Die Weinberge der Quinta liegen auf mindestens 500 m Höhe inmitten von Pinienwäldern und bieten einen atemberaubenden Blick über die Berge. Die Böden sind sehr granithaltig, was den Weinen ihren unverwechselbaren Charakter verleiht: sie sind sehr viel schlanker und eleganter als z.B. die Weine aus dem Douro, mit weniger Alkohol und weniger Süße, stattdessen sehr mineralisch, klassisch und gradlinig.

Hersteller: Quinta da Pellada – Unipessoal, Lda. – 6270 - 141 Pinhanços – Portugal

Angebot9,95€ (13,27€/l)
Ausverkauft

inkl. MwSt. Versandkosten werden an der Kasse berechnet

Abholung von Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen momentan nicht möglich

Quinta da Pellada Wein Flasche 0,75L Dão Tinto, Álvaro Castro Maitre Philippe et Filles

Dão Tinto, Álvaro Castro

Flasche 0,75L

Maître Philippe & Filles Hauptladen

Abholung momentan nicht möglich

Emser Straße
10719 Berlin
Deutschland

+493088683610

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
J
Jo.H (Berlin, Germany)
leichter Roter

ein leichter (13%) Roter mit erstaunlich wenig Säure und wunderbarer Tiefe

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

WIR LIEFERN NACH

Deutschland und Österreich
mit UPS und DHL
Click and Collect in Berlin

KOMPETENTE BERATUNG

Wir kennen uns aus und beraten Sie gerne... ☎︎ 030 88683610

SICHERE BEZAHLUNG

durch SSL-Verschlüsselung
Alle gängige Zahlungsmethoden.

ALLE PRODUKTE AUF LAGER

Keine Wartezeit, sichere Verpackung, schneller Versand