Collection: mackerel

The value of mackerel since Roman times

Mackerel is one of the most popular fish in the eastern Atlantic, from the British Isles to the coasts of North Africa.

The island of Escombreras in Cartagena takes its name from "scomber scombrus" because in ancient Rome it was one of the main export markets for garum , the mythical Roman sauce made primarily from mackerel.

This sauce was considered a luxury delicacy and was also made in the wealthy Baelo Claudia, 22 kilometers from Tarifa. It was made from the intestines and blood of mackerel and other fatty fish that were pickled in brine, soaked in the sun, and stirred frequently daily until they became liquid. It is known that even then, doctors recommended the consumption of garum for its nutritious and health-promoting properties.

In recent years, thanks in part to the popularity of Peruvian and Japanese cuisine, mackerel has gained a high status in gastronomy.

The Andalusian mackerel, the "Scomber Colias" , is a much appreciated fish native to this area. It can be found all along the Andalusian coast, and since its migratory route, diet and water temperature in which it lives are completely different from those of the Northwest Atlantic mackerel, its texture and taste are also different.

Makrele - Maître Philippe & Filles

    27 products

Kategorie: Makrele

Der Wert der Makrele seit der Römerzeit

Die Makrele ist einer der beliebtesten Fische im Ostatlantik, von den Britischen Inseln bis zu den Küsten Nordafrikas.

Die Insel Escombreras in Cartagena hat ihren Namen von "scomber scombrus", weil sie im alten Rom einer der wichtigsten Exportmärkte für Garum war, die mythische römische Sauce, die vor allem aus Makrelen hergestellt wurde.

Diese Sauce galt als Luxusdelikatesse und wurde auch im wohlhabenden Baelo Claudia, 22 Kilometer von Tarifa entfernt, hergestellt. Sie wurde aus den Eingeweiden und dem Blut von Makrelen und anderen fetten Fischen hergestellt, die in Salzlake eingelegt, in der Sonne eingeweicht und täglich häufig umgerührt wurden, bis sie eine flüssige Form annahmen. Es ist bekannt, dass Ärzte schon damals den Verzehr von Garum wegen seiner nahrhaften und gesundheitsfördernden Eigenschaften empfahlen.

In den letzten Jahren hat die Makrele unter anderem dank der Beliebtheit der peruanischen und japanischen Küche einen hohen Stellenwert in der Gastronomie erlangt.

Die andalusische Makrele, die "Scomber Colias", ist ein sehr geschätzter Fisch, der in diesem Gebiet heimisch ist. Sie ist an der gesamten andalusischen Küste anzutreffen, und da ihre Wanderroute, ihre Ernährung und die Wassertemperatur, in der sie lebt, völlig anders sind als die der Makrele aus dem Nordwestatlantik, sind auch ihre Beschaffenheit und ihr Geschmack anders.

    23 Produkte